Wimbish Primary Academy is heralding an 'exciting new era' as it completes its transition to join multi-academy trust Anglian Learning.

The transfer, completed on Friday, September 1, makes Wimbish the 10th primary school to join the trust since its inception in 2016.

Wimbish's new executive headteacher Nichola Pickford said: "I am honoured to have the opportunity to lead Wimbish Primary Academy at an exciting new phase for the school.

"Feedback from parents and staff has been very positive, with a general feeling of enthusiasm and excitement for the future.

"The school has a good relationship with local communities, including the Carver Barracks.

"This, along with new enriching experiences for the children with the support of the wider trust, demonstrates our commitment to ensuring that the school will continue to grow and prosper."

Wimbish Academy is a 105-place, one-form entry primary school situated between Thaxted and Saffron Walden.

The academy includes a forest school and pond, and has been given a Gold Award by the National Trust as part of their Green Tree School initiative - which highlights schools who showcase efforts to protect wildlife within their grounds.


Jonathan Culpin, CEO of Anglian Learning, said: "We are thrilled to welcome Wimbish Primary Academy into our trust.

"As one of the feeder schools for Joyce Frankland Academy, Newport, also a member of our trust, there is an opportunity for curriculum continuity and collaboration providing a positive learning experience for pupils, their families, and members of staff.

"At Anglian Learning, we’re ambitious for ourselves and all those in our community to be the best we can be.

"The team at Wimbish Primary Academy share our commitment to providing an excellent education, while being a proud member of the community they serve.

"We welcome the staff, children and their families to Anglian Learning and look forward to seeing the school flourish in the coming weeks and months."

Anglian Learning is a multi-academy trust based in East Anglia and comprising 16 schools and colleges.

Other primary schools in the trust include Bottisham, Fen Ditton, Howard, Icknield, Meadow, Pines, Stapleford, Marleigh and Linton Heights Junior School.