A-Level results: Saffron Walden County High School students continue remarkable track record

A-Level results day brought much joy and cause for celebration to students and staff at Saffron Walden County High School.

The school has a remarkable track record going back over at least 10 years of outstanding achievement by its students.

The class of 2011 has more than maintained these excellent standards.

Much emphasis is placed on the proportion of A-Level grades in the A*-B range. For the second year running, and including all the A2 and Applied A-Level results, this figure increased to an excellent 72 per cent. This compares to 64 per cent in 2010.

There was also a sharp increase in the number of A* grades being achieved, which rose by over 20 per cent compared with a year ago.

There were many outstanding individual performances. Some 34 students gained at least three grade A/A*.

Notable amongst this group were the achievements of Sam Diana, who gained five A* grades. Tom Dixon, Philippa Holman, Ilya Manyakin and Daniel Mills all gained at least three A* grades. Elizabeth Routledge achieved six grade As, with three being starred.

Most Read

On the basis of their A-Level achievements, five students who had already received provisional offers were able to confirm their places to study at either Oxford or Cambridge universities. They were Jonathan Smith, Tabatha Bergin, Ilya Manyakin, Luke Jones and Sam Diana.

This year, three SWCHS students also gained places at medical schools. They were Amy Sharpe, Benn Cutts and Eliza Davison.

SWCHS headteacher John Hartley said: “I am thrilled with the excellent results which our students have achieved this year.

“They have more than maintained the tradition of excellence in A-Level achievement established at SWCHS over the last decade.

“These results have arisen from a very conscientious and hardworking approach by our students, coupled with outstanding teaching.

“I heartily congratulate all our students on their achievements and would, on their behalf, like to thank all their teachers for the immense commitment and dedication they showed to ensure our students achieved their best.”