First-ever swimming trophy for Saffron Seals

PUBLISHED: 15:34 11 May 2016 | UPDATED: 15:34 11 May 2016

Saffron Seals have won the Essex Swimming League Division Three title

Saffron Seals have won the Essex Swimming League Division Three title


Saffron Seals have been crowned 2016 Essex Swimming League Division Three champions after a fourth successive win, this time at Becontree Sports Centre, Dagenham.

Before the event, Seals knew they had to achieve third place or better to claim their first-ever trophy.

They duly delivered, winning 22 of the 49 events and finishing second in 13 disciplines.

Nine swimmers – Sven Buckland, Lewis Marsh, Ciara McAuley, Alice Rogers (2), George Rogers, Will Saward, Isla Stringer and Isla Yarrow – achieved PB times but each and every swimmer and relay team competed strongly.

Final standings: Saffron Seals 199 pts; Harwich 168 pts; Hornchurch and Leyton 140 pts; Eltham Stingrays 84 pts.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Saffron Walden Reporter. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Saffron Walden Reporter