Saffron Walden Town chairman steps down from club role

PUBLISHED: 17:12 27 July 2016 | UPDATED: 17:12 27 July 2016

Martin Johnson (right)

Martin Johnson (right)


Chairman Martin Johnson says he was ‘proud’ of Saffron Walden Town Football Club’s achievements during his tenure at the club following his resignation at the Bloods’ annual general meeting last Wednesday night.

Johnson, who joined the now Thurlow Nunn Premier Division side four-and-a-half years ago, was one of six existing board members to leave their posts with Phil Strong, Jon Hawker, Andy Player, Jim Duvall and club secretary Rob Thurston all stepping down.

Jon Scripps, Jim Haynes and Carol Wilson arrive as replacements for the departing sextet.

Johnson said: “It has been a privilege to serve on the board and the club has moved forward a huge distance in that time. I am very proud of what we have all achieved by working together.

“We have delivered so many major milestones – getting back into the league, signing a new long-term lease for Catons Lane, establishing the new Community Benefit Society to protect the club going forward, bringing the new mini pitches into use in the coming weeks, developing the facilities we have, and improving our position every season on the pitch with of course the amazing promotion run in 2015. The final game of the 2014-15 season against Great Yarmouth with almost 800 people in the ground will be long remembered at the club.

“I wish the new board, Stuart, Ray, Mike and all the coaches and teams the very best of luck in the year ahead. I also hope everyone in the town continues to get behind the club. We are a community club and if we all work together we can go far.

“I will continue to support the club in any way I can in the future and will certainly be cheering on the team at Catons Lane. I wish everyone the very best of luck and have no doubt the club can continue to prosper in the future. Up the Bloods!”

Thurston’s club secretary role has been divided among four board members.

Scripps becomes first team secretary, Brian Wilson will be club secretary, Malcolm Nash is reserve secretary and Andrew Green is now membership secretary.

Paul Daw and Ken Vincent continue as president and vice-chairman respectively. Lee Dorrington and John Power also continue their roles

The board intend to name a new chairman and treasurer in the coming weeks.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Saffron Walden Reporter. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Saffron Walden Reporter